The Versatile Blogger Awards

Today I noticed that I was nominated by Grabbety Covens to receive this award. I have no idea what to say. Thank you would be a start for sure. I appreciate you so much Grabbety. You’re so supportive and kind, and you make me feel like blogging matters. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

I started this blog as a release. I had no idea that it would turn into something that would pique another person’s interest. One of my favourite shows is the West Wing, and there’s a dialogue that has always spoken to me.

“This guy’s walking down a street when he falls in a hole. The walls are so steep, he can’t get out. A doctor passes by, and the guy shouts up, “Hey you, can you help me out?” The doctor writes a prescription, throws it down in the hole and moves on. Then a priest comes along, and the guy shouts up “Father, I’m down in this hole, can you help me out?” The priest writes out a prayer, throws it down in the hole and moves on. Then a friend walks by. “Hey Joe, it’s me, can you help me out?” And the friend jumps in the hole. Our guy says, “Are you stupid? Now we’re both down here.” The friend says, “Yeah, but I’ve been down here before, and I know the way out.” – Leo McGarry

I’ve always wanted to say this to someone. I’ve always wanted to help people… or a person… anyone. I want to voice my experience and give someone hope. Every day is a struggle but here I am. I want anyone who’s considering not being here to see my blog or to hear my voice tell them that they can be here. And that I’m here. Because I’ve been there before… I am there now… and there is a way out. Maybe we can find it together.

7 facts about yourself:

  1. I’m 25. I have a full time job and 2 part time jobs and I live in Vancouver. In my parents house. I can’t afford to move out… I have 3 jobs and I can’t afford to live on my own.
  2. Sometimes music is all I have. It gets me through the days.
  3. Most of the time I am not okay. But I’m still here.
  4. My dream life is living in New Zealand in a one bedroom apartment with a man that I love and a floor to ceiling window that looks out on the ocean. I consistently dream of waking up next to him, opening the curtains, making coffee and starting the day together. That’s it. Just a morning of opening curtains and making coffee while he showers. Bliss.
  5. I’m an alcoholic but alcohol isn’t my most pressing issue.
  6. My ideal pet would be a penguin.
  7. I collect journals. On bad days I take an empty one, write a suicide note, fall asleep, and the journal remains empty except for the one suicide note written in a fit of desperation.

An 8th fact about myself is that I’m still new to blogging so I don’t follow many blogs and not many follow me. I nominate everyone who reads this post because I appreciate you all so much for reading.

I love you.

The Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you to receive this award.
  2. Include a link to their blog.
  3. Write seven facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 Blogs or Bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly, which you think are excellent bloggers and deserve some recognition. Include a link to their blog.
  5. Inform your nominees of their nomination.

One thought on “The Versatile Blogger Awards

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑